• Graduate Program
    • Why study Business Data Science?
    • Program Outline
    • Courses
    • Course Registration
    • Admissions
    • Facilities
  • Research
  • News
  • Summer School
    • Deep Learning
    • Machine Learning for Business
    • Tinbergen Institute Summer School Program
    • Receive updates
  • Events
    • Events Calendar
    • Events archive
    • Summer school
      • Deep Learning
      • Machine Learning for Business
      • Tinbergen Institute Summer School Program
      • Receive updates
    • Tinbergen Institute Lectures
    • Annual Tinbergen Institute Conference archive
  • Alumni

Amsterdam-Rotterdam Consortium for Graduate Education (ARC)

The Business Data Science research master program is governed by the Amsterdam-Rotterdam Consortium for Graduate Education (ARC). ARC is the consortium of the Schools of Economics and Business of Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR), University of Amsterdam (UvA) and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU), providing and supervising the graduate and PhD education of the schools. Also under the ARC umbrella is the Tinbergen Institute research master in economics. 

Members of the Supervisory Board of ARC

Professor R.M.W.J. Beetsma, Dean Amsterdam School of Economics and Business, University of Amsterdam
Professor P.J.F. Groenen, Dean Erasmus School of Economics, Erasmus University
Professor A. van Witteloostuijn, Dean School of Business and Economics, VU Amsterdam

Members of the Advisory Board of ARC

Professor J.W. Gunning (Emeritus Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Chair
Professor M. Timmer (VICI Laureate, University of Groningen and CPB Netherlands)
Professor J. Haskel (Imperial College and Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee)
Professor G. Imbens (Stanford University)
Professor Anja Lambrecht (London Business School) 

ARC Board 

The ARC Board supervises the day-to-day business and has one member: Professor B. van der Klaauw

Scientific Committee for the Business Data Science program

The Scientific Committee is comprised of experts in the fields of Business Data Science of the three participating faculties. Members are: Eric Bartelsman, Chair (VU), Dennis Fok (EUR), Gui Liberali (EUR), André Lucas (VU), Dick den Hertog (UvA), Edo Roos-Lindgreen (UvA).

Admission Board for the Business Data Science program

The Admission Board is in charge of student admissions and the allocation of scholarships. 

Contact the Admission Board 

ARC Educational Board

The Educational Board serves the Tinbergen Institute and the Business Data Science research master programs and consists of six members. Three members are from the teaching staff and three members are students in the research master programs (for distributional reasons students delegate four members; three of them have the right to vote). The Educational Board issues advice, both solicited and unsolicited, to the Directors of Graduate Studies on all matters concerning the educational program, with the objective of maintaining or improving the quality of the programs.

Members of the Educational Board are:

Joey van Angeren 
Thomas Buser (Chair)
Sebastian Gryglewicz
Paul Doekhie
Thao Le
Ali Moin
Tijmen Henkes

ARC Examination Board

The Examination Board serves Tinbergen Institute and the Business Data Science research master programs. The main duty of the Examination Board is to supervise all aspects of the quality assurance of the examinations and to determine whether a student fulfils the conditions for obtaining the degree, as defined in the Academic and Examination Regulations. The Examination Board decides on any student requests for exemptions and deviations from the program. 

Members of the Examination Board are: 
Chen Zhou (Chair)
Peter Lanjouw
Christian Stoltenberg
Elian Bogers (external member)

Send an email to the Examination Board. 

Student Council

The student council is a joint council together with the Tinbergen Institute reseseach master students. The council channels concerns of students to staff and Director but is also there to remind students that there is more to life than studying. Contact the student council. For more information and agenda, look here

Student Council officers in the current year are listed here.